Weinberg: Sonatas 4, 5, 6

18 June 2020 | Hôtel de Soubise - Musée des Archives nationales (dans le cadre du Festival des Cultures Juives)

As a result of the evolving COVID-19 situation and the current mesurements taken by the French government, the concert “Mieczyslaw Weinberg: Sonatas for piano and Violin 4, 5, 6” has been postponed. New date to be announced.




There are some individuals that seem to have been inexplicably neglected by history and deprived of glory despite of their talent. This seems to be precisely the case of Mieczyslaw Weinberg, the composer of Russian modernity, who leaves behind an extremely diverse oeuvre of high quality, both on a technical and aesthetic level. 

The work echoes the political history of his country and the tragedy in Weinberg’s personal life. As a victim of the anti-Jewish campaign of 1953, jailed for eleven months, he was freed from execution thanks to the intervention of his friend Dmitry Shostakovich, who was already an influential figure at that time. 

In honor of the excellence of Weinberg’s work as well as the occasion of the centenary of his birth in 2019, the ensemble Des Equilibres today pays homage to Mieczyslaw Weinberg. From this unjustly forgotten composer we propose, as such, his sonatas for violin and piano N° 4, 5 and 6.


Sonata for violin and piano no.4, op.38 (1947)
I. Adagio
II. Allegro ma non troppo
III. Adagio tenuto molto rubato
IV. Adagio primo 

Sonata for violin and piano no.5, op.53 (1953)
I. Andante con moto
II. Allegro molto
III. Allegro moderato
IV. Allegro – Andante – Allegretto – Andante 

Sonata for violin no.6, op.136bis (1982)
Moderato – Adagio

Agnès Pyka (violin) and Dimitri Vassilakis (piano)