A Romantic Getaway

July, 11th 2017, 9pm | Sainte Marguerite’ house, La Garde


  • Sonata for violin and piano n°1 Op.78 (1878)
  • Sonata for violin and piano n°2 Op.100 (1886)
  • Sonata for violin and piano n°3 Op.108 (1888)
    By Johannes Brahms

With Agnès Pyka (violin) & Laurent Wagschal (piano)

The three sonatas for violin and piano by Brahms form a collection over time, with scarcely ten years between first and last, written during the mature period of the composer.

There are no unfulfilled attempts or virtuoso digressions here, but a mastered language at the service of Brahms’ personal style of poetry: sensitivity to the elements of nature, literary references, personal introspection.