Modernity and Romance in Poland

July, 4th 2017, 9pm | Sainte Marguerite's House, La Garde

Programme :

  • Sonata n°1 for violin & piano Op. 12 by Mieczyslaw Weinberg (1943)
  • Studies n° 5 – 13 – 34 – 45 by Frédéric Chopin (1830)
  • Sonata n°2 for violin & piano Op. 15 by Mieczyslaw Weinberg (1944)

With Agnès Pyka (violin) & Laurent Wagschal (piano)

Mieczyslaw Weinberg draws his inspiration from the music of his friend Shostakovich, or perhaps from Bartok, reusing folk music motifs for the building of a sonata for violin and piano. The dialogue between the two instruments makes it possible to propose variations of these melodic patterns through resolutely modern harmonies. The melody of the violin, full of Hebrew accents, exhibits its virtuosity.

Chopin’s Studies are two notebooks each of twelve studies for piano which the Polish composer published in the 1830s. The first studies to also be concerts pieces, they are nevertheless rarely performed in public in their entirety, being reknowned for their difficulty.